She replied, “I wish I had a stroke as an excuse for my short-term memory issues!”

I Had a Stroke at 33

This is a long story, but a good one.  Although she experienced very little pain you can see the same stories circling her life after the stroke.  You can see how she was treated by her loved ones, how things fell apart, how they came together, how she lost her way entirely and how she figured out how to make her new life work within her new limitations.   Knowing that we all share similar challenges, no matter the illness, its frustrating that there is still such a gap in understanding of our struggles.

About leitis23

I'm an adventure, living life to the fullest, and doing stupid things enthusiast, whose life took a serious left turn into chronic invisible illness. My saga of adventures in the world and in medicine never fail to keep life interesting.
This entry was posted in Chronic Illness, conditions and diseases, coping, understanding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She replied, “I wish I had a stroke as an excuse for my short-term memory issues!”

  1. nobodysmama says:

    I see you haven’t posted in a while, and I hope you are ok (as ok as you can be!). I just wanted to say that I am two years in to an invisible chronic illness and relate to so much of what you have written – much of this simply wouldn’t be understood by those closest to me. I don’t even want to think about the looks I’d get if I told them I’d rather have been told I had cancer or some other thing with an end than this endless series of terrible tests and diagnoses and misdiagnoses and medical fuckery. I am in facebook support groups but there seems to be some kind of overwhelming pressure to add a silver lining to everything and appear positive and upbeat about it at all times. Sometimes there isn’t one, things just suck. Anyway, I wanted to say that this is the most real account I’ve read and thank you for writing it 🙂

    • justjill says:

      Nobodysmama: I agree. Cancer would be easier to explain. And this is totally the most real and relevant account – I hope she is okay. Anyway, I just wanted to echo your sentiments and let you know “me too”. : )

Leave a Reply

